13
3
1
等級4
Oh hey! Long time no see…Can you believe it’s been 953 days since I last put pen to paper to talk about food? There’s been so much that’s happened in the last two and a half years and I’ve been a little busy and distracted.Well, I suddenly find myself with a bit of spare time, so thought it would be nice to get back into the groove.I wanted to tell you a little bit about one of my favourite places to eat in recent times. I’d become a little jaded with all of the fine dining, feeling a sense of s
更多
Oh hey! Long time no see…

Can you believe it’s been 953 days since I last put pen to paper to talk about food? There’s been so much that’s happened in the last two and a half years and I’ve been a little busy and distracted.

Well, I suddenly find myself with a bit of spare time, so thought it would be nice to get back into the groove.

I wanted to tell you a little bit about one of my favourite places to eat in recent times. I’d become a little jaded with all of the fine dining, feeling a sense of sameness from dining out at so called top restaurants with Michelin Stars. But what can I say, I’m still a sucker for interesting and tasty food.

It’s why Cornerstone in Soho has become one of my most revered casual dining spots in all of Hong Kong. Set up by Shane Osborne, the Aussie chef that runs perennial restaurant Arcane and a guy that featured heavily in Netflix’s failed global cooking show The Final Table. Actually, featured heavily is an understatement as the guy was the eventual runner up with his Aussie cheffing buddy Mark Best.
22 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

The only thing you need to know about Cornerstone is that the food is always superb; while you can certainly see the inspiration and influence of Shane Osborne, it’s one of his protégés who is responsible for the seasonal menu. With an underlying philosophy of securing great produce to provide a contemporary yet modest menu that is value for money, Neal Ledesma does an outstanding job of providing one of the best meals in Hong Kong today.

The first thing you notice about Cornerstone is how small and intimate it feels; with a modern bistro layout that includes a slate grey colour scheme and comfortable seating, the dining room feels comfortable, light and airy. A bar area at the back of the smallish dining room feels subtle and doesn’t dominate the space and the kitchen is hidden out the back, so unfortunately you can’t see the magic happen.
38 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

One of the hardest tasks when visiting Cornerstone is limiting yourself to just a couple of menu items; believe me, you’re going to be tempted with all of the incredible options available. We solve this problem by coming regularly and rotating through the different options each visit; and while there are favourites, it’s worth choosing something different each visit.

Our most recent visit saw a menu that had a few notable changes and we started with a couple of newish entrées. The girl kicked off our lunch with a light and tasty vegetarian(ish) option. The roasted pumpkin came with toasted kale, sage, slices of almond and a delicious beurre noisette.. There was a nice amount of burrata cheese included, so it wasn’t really fully fit for a vegetarian, but it wasn’t a problem for us at all.
Pumpkin
23 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

I started with the Yellowfin Tuna, generous slices of tuna came with a slight grill around the outer casing and was placed on strips of daikon bating in a clear dashi. Each slice of tuna had a think strip of pickled cucumber placed on top, which gave a sharp contrast to the subtle flavours of the tuna and dashi. It was more akin to a summer dish, so slightly out of kilter on the largely wintery menu, but given it was quite a warm day outside (25 degrees), the dish actually hit the spot nicely.
11 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


There was nothing summery about the main courses though; the girl chose the quintessential wintery dish of Braised Wagyu Brisket that came with an incredibly buttery and smooth mash, winter vegetables including onion, carrot and a red wine jus. The depth of flavour that came from the beef was insane, and as well as a deep rich flavour of beef, there was a creamy flavour to the wagyu also that was something we’d not experienced before. It was a show stopper of a dish, both beautiful and tasty. You can always tell a winning dish when those seated at tables nearby exclaim loudly “yep, that’s what I want”.
16 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


My choice was the Mushroom Spelt Risotto, which was warming and intensely flavoured. A dollop of mascarpone emanated from the centre of the dish and was hidden slightly by the shaved truffle and chestnuts. There was an earthy flavour to the risotto that was elevated by the creamy mascarpone, then hits of salty goodness from diced and crispy bacon. Given the risotto used spelt (a wheat grain) instead of rice, there was a slightly chewy texture that was really quite pleasant on the palate. Delicious, warming and totally filling.
9 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


While we loved the entrées and mains, both on this visit and our many previous visits, we’ve learned through experience that the dessert menu does not reach the heights of the main show; so again decided that we’d get some chocolate on the walk home instead of partaking in the offered desserts.

Given that our visit was on Christmas Eve, it was unsurprisingly busy at Cornerstone with our sitting being the third sitting of the lunchtime period. Also unsurprising was that as we entered the dining room, we bumped into friends who’d just finished eating their lunch. I say unsurprising as the same thing happened the week before when we were seated next to some buddies who were just finishing up their meal.

Cornerstone is the type of ‘local’ restaurant where you’re likely to bump into people you know regularly; not though sheer coincidence, but because it’s the type of place that you can regularly visit and have an outstanding meal for a price that is unlike many great restaurants you’ll find in HK; that is, super reasonably priced. It’s not just our favourite casual dining spot, but a favourite for many!
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


If you’ve never visited Cornerstone, you’re missing out. My recommendation is do yourself a favour, get along and support this amazing restaurant. In these tough and unprecedented times, supporting those little gems of restaurants has never been so important.

Oh, if you’re wondering why it’s been 953 days since I had the time to write about my dining experiences…. I can tell you I’ve had a lot on my mind since changing careers and buying into a fitness centre. You can read a little bit about it here or watch a little bit about my Covid-19 experience here

Hope to tell you about some more dining experiences soon!


10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2020-12-24
等候時間
5 分鐘 (堂食)
人均消費
$400 (午餐)
推介美食
Pumpkin
  • All Dishes but is ok to avoid dessert
等級4
167
6
Cornerstone’s brainchild Shane Osborn is the chef behind the better known Arcane. You might also recognize him from Netflix’s The Final Table, where he made it to the finals. Arcane has one Michelin star, and Cornerstone also made it to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand guide.Michelin stars are hardly a foolproof guide to consistent, first-rate fare, and chefs who have gained some degree of fame tend to turn themselves (or be turned) into commercial ventures that, more often than not, seem to lead to disa
更多
Cornerstone’s brainchild Shane Osborn is the chef behind the better known Arcane. You might also recognize him from Netflix’s The Final Table, where he made it to the finals. Arcane has one Michelin star, and Cornerstone also made it to Michelin’s Bib Gourmand guide.

Michelin stars are hardly a foolproof guide to consistent, first-rate fare, and chefs who have gained some degree of fame tend to turn themselves (or be turned) into commercial ventures that, more often than not, seem to lead to disappointing dining experiences over time. Because, let’s face it, apart from the higher expectations that come along with an expensive check, when it comes to a dedication to deliver a particular culinary experience, the effort tends not to scale well. At least not easily so.

But Cornerstone has exceeded my expectations. The décor is modern and neat with clean lines, and the entire place has a relaxing vibe to it with its steel blue and white and light wooden colors. Waiting staff are attentive and professional. Behind the impossibly heavy door, it’s the place for a perfectly tranquil moment in bustling Central.

The menu is pretty compact, but still enough to cater to a wide range of dietary preferences. While many of the “main courses” were ostensibly rooted in British and American style cooking, there were a good many dishes and starters that were more globally inspired. We went on two consecutive weekends and tried a few of them, our favorite being the grilled Spanish octopus, but everything else was faultless, quite original and very delicious.

Brunch is at $298 for one starter and one main course. We liked the octopus so much from our first visit that we ordered another octopus separately on top of our brunch sets on our second visit. If it wasn’t for the sake of diversity, we joked that ideally we’d order three octopuses.

If I could make one complaint, it would be that tap water or hot water wasn’t available or complimentary. Only filtered water is available at $18 per person. It isn’t a matter of how much it costs, but the fact that a restaurant in Hong Kong wouldn’t offer water for free is almost offensive. That servers have to awkwardly point it out every time a diner requests for water is evidence of its oddity—especially in light of their no-service-charge policy. Otherwise, everything’s good.

Food Rundown

Yellow fin tuna
$168
5 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Yellow fin tuna, $168
This is the perfect starter for me because it’s so light and delicate. It comes with a bit of dashi for some flavor, while sesame, cucumber and daikon add a refreshing crunch.

Steak tartare
$168
7 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Steak tartare, $168
This was memorably good. Truffle was there more than to impress, as it really lent some depth to the flavors of the tartare. The tartare also had celeriac and watercress to balance and some parmesan for extra richness. I can’t be certain about the magic ratio of shallots and mustard and herbs and various other condiments here, but we order steak tartare everywhere we go, even in France, and this was one of the best versions.

Roasted pumpkin salad
$158
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Roasted pumpkin salad, $158
Burrata and roasted pumpkin may be ordinary ingredients, but this was really an earthy, nutty and texture-rich dish that was much more satisfying than it looks. All the goodness rests in the skin of a pumpkin, add some beurre noisette to that and roast, and you have the most perfect starter. The kale and almond were also crispy and fun. I’d just prefer the portion size to be half of what it is now because it is an incredibly heavy dish.

Baked Taiyouran egg
$178
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Baked Taiyouran egg
$178
13 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Baked Taiyouran egg, $178
This was quite suitable for a weekend brunch, and quite very Anglo—other than the use of eggs from Japan. Baked eggs are hardly ever going to go wrong, and accompanying that with some Merguez instead of bacon was a welcome change, giving the eggs more flavor and excitement. While hearty, I thought the dish was again a little heavy overall, especially with toasted malt bread that was completely covered in grease.

Grilled Spanish Octopus
$208
8 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Grilled Spanish Octopus, $208
The octopus was the star of the menu. It was super tender and the ends of its tentacles were grilled to perfect crispiness. The potato slices were buttery and very aromatic. The dish was more or less Mediterranean style, with a bed of Catalonian-style romesco sauce and olives and dried tomatoes as garnishes.

Wagyu steak sandwich
$218
12 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Wagyu steak sandwich, $218
Here you have wagyu that doesn’t disappoint (we tend to find wagyu a little too bland in comparison to other types of quality cows). While the ciabatta was filled with standard ingredients like mustard mayo, onion, and veggies, it was truly a treat with great flavors. Highly recommended.

10 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Americano, $36 
This was mostly fine, but nothing much to write home about.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2021-01-10
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$350
推介美食
Yellow fin tuna
$ 168
Steak tartare
$ 168
Roasted pumpkin salad
$ 158
Grilled Spanish Octopus
$ 208
Wagyu steak sandwich
$ 218
等級2
8
0
2021-02-21 39 瀏覽
'Sorry, it's our compang policy for not serving tap water(free) but you can choose our still or sparkling water ($18 per head).朋友介紹食li間餐廳,話之前冇得訂位°但係因為疫情呢間餐廳都要接受訂位,仲可以whatsapp訂位非常方便°一入到間餐廳就問你飲乜嘢水,‘we have sparkling or still water.' 我哋話要tap water, 跟住佢就話佢哋冇tap water, 我問佢我飲水唔代表我唔會嗌其他飲品, 跟住佢就同我講係company policy淨係得sparkling water或者still water...講真我聽到呢度我已經對呢間餐廳冇曬期望, 其實基本消費三百幾蚊一個人嘅午餐畀杯水人哋都咁小家,你點樣期望人哋再嚟呢?我哋除咗叫做starter 同main,其實每人都嗌咗個dessert° 每人四百幾蚊埋單(當中包咗18蚊sparkling water),我唔係好接受到一定要逼我畀錢買水飲°講真佢個beef tarta
更多
'Sorry, it's our compang policy for not serving tap water(free) but you can choose our still or sparkling water ($18 per head).

朋友介紹食li間餐廳,話之前冇得訂位°但係因為疫情呢間餐廳都要接受訂位,仲可以whatsapp訂位非常方便°
一入到間餐廳就問你飲乜嘢水,‘we have sparkling or still water.' 我哋話要tap water, 跟住佢就話佢哋冇tap water, 我問佢我飲水唔代表我唔會嗌其他飲品, 跟住佢就同我講係company policy淨係得sparkling water或者still water...講真我聽到呢度我已經對呢間餐廳冇曬期望, 其實基本消費三百幾蚊一個人嘅午餐畀杯水人哋都咁小家,你點樣期望人哋再嚟呢?我哋除咗叫做starter 同main,其實每人都嗌咗個dessert° 每人四百幾蚊埋單(當中包咗18蚊sparkling water),我唔係好接受到一定要逼我畀錢買水飲°
18 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


講真佢個beef tartare & octopus 🐙係好味嘅°

4 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


2 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

但係個三文魚starter同pumpkin Salad starter好普通, 好似simplylife啲飯盒餸咁°

0 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


0 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

其實我哋仲有兩個main我唔記得影相, risotto 偏鹹我哋四個女仔都無食曬° 有個steak sandwich睇落普通,surprisingly soft and tender°

甜品非常之普通,唔使嘥百几蚊去嗌°


總括嚟講,服務扣咗佢最多嘅分,如果唔係呢間餐廳都好算質素°
0 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2021-02-20
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$450 (午餐)
等級3
45
0
2020-12-05 1048 瀏覽
今次嚟到SOHO,就係想試吓呢一間新開嘅澳洲式嘅hip bistro,佢個lunch set價錢相宜!包括前菜、主菜同一杯嘢飲,而且佢哋個lunch set是固定,但會定期更換菜式!而整體嘅環境都非常之舒適,雖然座位唔算多,但坐得都好舒服,每一張枱都有相對嘅距離唔會好壓迫,如果大家想試佢哋嘅lunch / dinner,奉勸大家提早少少訂枱!而我自己非常之鍾意佢哋嘅裝修同擺設,完全感覺到老闆費盡心思嘅設計,影出嚟非常之優美!而我就叫左一杯Latte先,味道算唔錯,但唔好對佢啲咖啡特別有期望!而呢一度嘅前菜係沙律,味道有少少過鹹,特別係啲ham同個醬,所以配合埋下面嘅生菜,先可以中和一下啲鹹味。個主菜係sea bream,下面有少少豆,整體嘅份量唔算多,但係對我來講就啱啱好!如果比較大食嘅人就可能唔係太飽。下次有機會都會想試吓佢哋嘅晚餐!
更多
今次嚟到SOHO,就係想試吓呢一間新開嘅澳洲式嘅hip bistro,佢個lunch set價錢相宜!包括前菜、主菜同一杯嘢飲,而且佢哋個lunch set是固定,但會定期更換菜式!

而整體嘅環境都非常之舒適,雖然座位唔算多,但坐得都好舒服,每一張枱都有相對嘅距離唔會好壓迫,如果大家想試佢哋嘅lunch / dinner,奉勸大家提早少少訂枱!

130 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
77 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


而我自己非常之鍾意佢哋嘅裝修同擺設,完全感覺到老闆費盡心思嘅設計,影出嚟非常之優美!

而我就叫左一杯Latte先,味道算唔錯,但唔好對佢啲咖啡特別有期望!

108 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


而呢一度嘅前菜係沙律,味道有少少過鹹,特別係啲ham同個醬,所以配合埋下面嘅生菜,先可以中和一下啲鹹味。

52 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

個主菜係sea bream,下面有少少豆,整體嘅份量唔算多,但係對我來講就啱啱好!如果比較大食嘅人就可能唔係太飽。

下次有機會都會想試吓佢哋嘅晚餐!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$200 (午餐)
等級1
4
0
2020-11-04 1177 瀏覽
因為老婆生日,所以一早book定餐廳,挑選cornstone主要係因為睇過Netflix節目<Final Table>,而呢間小酒館係由殺入決賽的大廚Shane Osborn所開,所以當Google搵到有呢間餐廳就決定前來慶祝。由於一早訂左位,所以一去到就可以入座,餐廳座位不多,但環境和裝修都令人覺得很有格調和舒服,而且侍廳十分有禮。味道十分出色,而招牌的octopus更是必試。一共點了4款食物和兩杯野飲,埋單都唔使$800,抵食又好味,推介大家一試。
更多
因為老婆生日,所以一早book定餐廳,挑選cornstone主要係因為睇過Netflix節目<Final Table>,而呢間小酒館係由殺入決賽的大廚Shane Osborn所開,所以當Google搵到有呢間餐廳就決定前來慶祝。

由於一早訂左位,所以一去到就可以入座,餐廳座位不多,但環境和裝修都令人覺得很有格調和舒服,而且侍廳十分有禮。味道十分出色,而招牌的octopus更是必試。一共點了4款食物和兩杯野飲,埋單都唔使$800,抵食又好味,推介大家一試。
French Onion Soup
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Smoked Salmon
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Spelt Risotto
39 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Octopus
34 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2020-11-01
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$400 (午餐)
慶祝紀念
生日
推介美食
French Onion Soup
Smoked Salmon
Spelt Risotto
Octopus
  • octopus
等級2
19
0
2020-10-13 1079 瀏覽
Michelin Guide 2020-Bib Gourmand-CornerstoneHip bistro liked Australian CafeBlack Garlic Octopus 9/10👍🏻Very good texture, the chef is good in handling the cooking timing Wagyu Bavette Sandwich 6/10👍🏻The beef is strong enough in taste and the other ingredient in the sandwich is quite standard combination and not surprising
更多
Michelin Guide 2020-Bib Gourmand-Cornerstone
Hip bistro liked Australian Cafe
Black Garlic Octopus 9/10👍🏻
Very good texture, the chef is good in handling the cooking timing

Wagyu Bavette Sandwich 6/10👍🏻
The beef is strong enough in taste and the other ingredient in the sandwich is quite standard combination and not surprising
30 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
29 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級3
65
0
2020-07-15 2083 瀏覽
I was so happy to have been able to spend my birthday with a bunch of my closest friends. We started off with this wine which is one of my favoritesAs Shane Osborn's second restaurant in HK the quality was indeed quite good however, I did find the food on the salty side. This was one of their avocado salads.Another salad with different veggies and egg.Their famous ocotpus dish I think this was the pork (sorry it was a few months ago)This mushroom rigatoni was very yummy
更多
I was so happy to have been able to spend my birthday with a bunch of my closest friends. We started off with this wine which is one of my favorites
65 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

As Shane Osborn's second restaurant in HK the quality was indeed quite good however, I did find the food on the salty side. This was one of their avocado salads.
47 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Another salad with different veggies and egg.
50 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Their famous ocotpus dish 
Octopus
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

I think this was the pork (sorry it was a few months ago)
57 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

This mushroom rigatoni was very yummy
rigatoni
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2020-05-19
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
rigatoni
等級1
2
0
2020-06-03 2197 瀏覽
Poor ConnerstoneI come to Corner stone because I thought it is run by Shane Osborn.  When we sat down, the waitress told us that     we need to pay for $18 each for even tap water!  Fine! we ordered two beer.I notice that Shane was not there.  I was told that all food in the restaurant were prepared by other two chefs from Philippine.  I am not racist but it totally defeated my purpose to be there and why it use Mr. Osborn name to promote?The size of food is small definitely not enough for an ad
更多
Poor Connerstone
I come to Corner stone because I thought it is run by Shane Osborn. 
When we sat down, the waitress told us that     we need to pay for $18 each for even tap water!  Fine! we ordered two beer.
I notice that Shane was not there.  I was told that all food in the restaurant were prepared by other two chefs from Philippine.  I am not racist but it totally defeated my purpose to be there and why it use Mr. Osborn name to promote?
The size of food is small definitely not enough for an adult and it is expensive too.  The quality is poor.  The octopus was very salty and the risotto is tasteless.
If I were you, DON'T go!
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2020-05-31
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$200 (午餐)
等級4
113
0
2020-04-16 3097 瀏覽
🐙Octopus with Brussel Sprout, Daikon, Yuzu, Sesame $188.新上榜嘅車胎人推介~今次試左佢招牌嘅兩道菜!八爪魚烤得幾香,口感柔軟帶嚼勁🐙好惹味不過調味略嫌過咸,蘸上柚子醬食就啱啱好👌🏻驚喜位係大根同小捲心菜都好甜好好食🥬.🥪Steak Sandwich - Wagyu Bavette, Red Onion, Rocket, Mustard Mayonnaise $218.另外仲食左steak sandwich🥪和牛嘅部位係牛腹側肉,幾適合grill/roast🐮由於佢比較瘦,冇乜脂肪,所以火喉控制好重要,一過熟就好易又鞋又靭👀而Cornerstone做得到啱啱好嘅medium rare而且切得厚薄適中👍🏻配上紅洋蔥、火箭菜同埋芥末蛋黃醬又夾又好味!而且佢個麵包都幾鬆軟架,唔錯👌🏻.
更多
🐙Octopus with Brussel Sprout, Daikon, Yuzu, Sesame $188
.

新上榜嘅車胎人推介~今次試左佢招牌嘅兩道菜!八爪魚烤得幾香,口感柔軟帶嚼勁🐙好惹味不過調味略嫌過咸,蘸上柚子醬食就啱啱好👌🏻驚喜位係大根同小捲心菜都好甜好好食🥬
122 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

.
🥪Steak Sandwich - Wagyu Bavette, Red Onion, Rocket, Mustard Mayonnaise $218
.
另外仲食左steak sandwich🥪和牛嘅部位係牛腹側肉,幾適合grill/roast🐮由於佢比較瘦,冇乜脂肪,所以火喉控制好重要,一過熟就好易又鞋又靭👀而Cornerstone做得到啱啱好嘅medium rare而且切得厚薄適中👍🏻配上紅洋蔥、火箭菜同埋芥末蛋黃醬又夾又好味!而且佢個麵包都幾鬆軟架,唔錯👌🏻
.
110 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

103 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級4
453
0
2020-03-01 2475 瀏覽
Shane Osborn在香港的第二家店, 走的不是如Arcane般的Fine Dining路線, 反而在裝橫上在價格定位上更似Bistro: 不收加一, Sparkling和Still Water每位只是十八元, 比很各中式茶樓的茶位更便宜. Cornerstone的中文意思是基石, 是否代表著這裡的菜式只是基本而簡單的做法, 這不盡是, 就算是Restaurant Week的菜單, Shane和他的團隊也很悉心去設計和烹調. 像是頭盤之一的牛肉他他, 用上大量的芹菜根和雅枝竹, 再鋪上大量的蛋黃碎, 中和了生牛肉的Raw之餘, 也為其提供了爽脆的口感, 和生牛肉軟糯的口感相映成趣. 另一度頭盤看似是湯, 其實是傳統的洋姜白湯, 而洋姜和耶路撒冷及雅枝竹是沒有太大關係, 至於為什麼叫耶路撒冷雅枝竹, 我就不知道了! (笑) 口感很滑, 柔和的的奶油味再加上松露及烤過的栗子, 配搭也夠精妙.主菜點了澳洲和牛及烤八爪魚, 在Arcane時吃過其M9的和牛, 這裏的和牛Marble程度沒有比Arcane的好, 用上Skirt Steak求的不是牠的肥美, 而是牠的牛味. 簡單的紅酒醬配上甜
更多
Shane Osborn在香港的第二家店, 走的不是如Arcane般的Fine Dining路線, 反而在裝橫上在價格定位上更似Bistro: 不收加一, Sparkling和Still Water每位只是十八元, 比很各中式茶樓的茶位更便宜. Cornerstone的中文意思是基石, 是否代表著這裡的菜式只是基本而簡單的做法, 這不盡是, 就算是Restaurant Week的菜單, Shane和他的團隊也很悉心去設計和烹調. 像是頭盤之一的牛肉他他, 用上大量的芹菜根和雅枝竹, 再鋪上大量的蛋黃碎, 中和了生牛肉的Raw之餘, 也為其提供了爽脆的口感, 和生牛肉軟糯的口感相映成趣. 另一度頭盤看似是湯, 其實是傳統的洋姜白湯, 而洋姜和耶路撒冷及雅枝竹是沒有太大關係, 至於為什麼叫耶路撒冷雅枝竹, 我就不知道了! (笑) 口感很滑, 柔和的的奶油味再加上松露及烤過的栗子, 配搭也夠精妙.

主菜點了澳洲和牛及烤八爪魚, 在Arcane時吃過其M9的和牛, 這裏的和牛Marble程度沒有比Arcane的好, 用上Skirt Steak求的不是牠的肥美, 而是牠的牛味. 簡單的紅酒醬配上甜菜及番薯蓉, 用天然的甜味作為襯托, 沒有什麼可以挑剔. 烤八爪魚鬚十分巨型, 淡淡肉之餘肉質保持彈牙, 略嫌味道頗咸, 但配上柚子醬則沒有這個問題. 甜品的芝士蛋糕保持水準, 用上熱情果醬酸酸甜甜, 簡單得來舒服. 另外原條的布里芝士配上青提, 咸香配酸甜, 簡單中見心思. 下一次想試一試Shane設計的素菜5-Coarse Set Dinner, 希望快點再開就好了!
177 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
  • Octopus
等級3
78
0
2020-02-25 1826 瀏覽
Credit to “hiking bank“ #行山銀行,hiking has become a part of measures against the coronavirus outbreak. Hike along the major trails is definitely too packed for now, to avoid the crowds, it is time to discover some hidden cafes. 🤗~~😋: 4.6~~With gilded marble patterns as the main theme, some may say it is “basic”, but who doesn’t enjoy a bit of luxury✌ It also blends in pieces of wooden flooring, creating a relaxing space to hide from ongoing coronavirus issue. Not only does it serve great coffee, b
更多
Credit to “hiking bank“ #行山銀行,hiking has become a part of measures against the coronavirus outbreak. Hike along the major trails is definitely too packed for now, to avoid the crowds, it is time to discover some hidden cafes. 🤗
~
~
😋: 4.6
~
~
With gilded marble patterns as the main theme, some may say it is “basic”, but who doesn’t enjoy a bit of luxury✌ It also blends in pieces of wooden flooring, creating a relaxing space to hide from ongoing coronavirus issue. Not only does it serve great coffee, but they also have drooling lunch set (HK$186). ~
47 瀏覽
1 讚好
0 留言
49 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
54 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
218 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
150 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
等級3
50
0
2020-02-16 1407 瀏覽
聽聞由Arcane大廚掛名嘅餐廳🍴,水準有返咁上下掛🤔星期三嘅傍晚,特登早D去,去到未夠6:30,中環路邊嘅餐廳🍴門口有個好似小露台嘅位置,望落去幾悠閑🙆🏻‍♀️餐廳地方細細,只有約30個坐位左右,感覺比較迫,比Arcane平一半,係咁架啦😆入店內坐低,只有另一枱客,以為真係生意難做,原來大約7點左右開始多人,7:30全店滿座😄難怪唔比Book位😎食物方面,性價比高,試左三樣菜,叫左杯Prosecco氣泡酒,全部🉐️餐廳門口一角小露台,好悠閑嘅感覺😌Octopus 🐙 $188Brussel Sprout, Daikon, Yuzu, Sesame八爪魚🐙彈牙,配合伴菜同個汁,好味😋Steak Sandwich 🥪 $218Wagyu Bavette, Red onion, Rocket, Mustard Mayonnaise 和牛肉質鮮嫩多汁,味道好,麵包亦外脆內軟,非常好味,必叫👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻Apple TartCinnamon, Ginger, Grumble新鮮焗起蘋果批,脆、香、真係冇得彈,而且仲帶有薑汁味,真係值得一試🥰
更多
聽聞由Arcane大廚掛名嘅餐廳🍴,水準有返咁上下掛🤔

星期三嘅傍晚,特登早D去,去到未夠6:30,中環路邊嘅餐廳🍴門口有個好似小露台嘅位置,望落去幾悠閑🙆🏻‍♀️餐廳地方細細,只有約30個坐位左右,感覺比較迫,比Arcane平一半,係咁架啦😆入店內坐低,只有另一枱客,以為真係生意難做,原來大約7點左右開始多人,7:30全店滿座😄難怪唔比Book位😎

食物方面,性價比高,試左三樣菜,叫左杯Prosecco氣泡酒,全部🉐️


餐廳門口一角小露台,好悠閑嘅感覺😌
50 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


Octopus 🐙 $188
Brussel Sprout, Daikon, Yuzu, Sesame
八爪魚🐙彈牙,配合伴菜同個汁,好味😋
44 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


Steak Sandwich 🥪 $218
Wagyu Bavette, Red onion, Rocket, Mustard Mayonnaise 和牛肉質鮮嫩多汁,味道好,麵包亦外脆內軟,非常好味,必叫👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
48 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言


Apple Tart
Cinnamon, Ginger, Grumble
新鮮焗起蘋果批,脆、香、真係冇得彈,而且仲帶有薑汁味,真係值得一試🥰
41 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2020-02-12
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$350 (晚餐)
慶祝紀念
紀念日
推介美食
  • Steak  Sandwich
  • Apple  Tart
等級4
101
1
2019-12-14 1760 瀏覽
Summary: Certainly not bad, but underwhelming food for the price. Charming and well-located mid-upper tier modern western food, that was a bit too simple and ingredient, rather than technique, focused for me. Nothing jumped out, and not sure if it's worth the price. Finally made some time to check out Cornerstone, located neatly on Hollywood Road across from Quinary. The interior is minimalist and warm, with a lot of wood accents. They don't try to cram in tables, and they leave a lot of space f
更多
Summary: Certainly not bad, but underwhelming food for the price. Charming and well-located mid-upper tier modern western food, that was a bit too simple and ingredient, rather than technique, focused for me. Nothing jumped out, and not sure if it's worth the price. 

Finally made some time to check out Cornerstone, located neatly on Hollywood Road across from Quinary. The interior is minimalist and warm, with a lot of wood accents. They don't try to cram in tables, and they leave a lot of space for staff to pass and move around comfortably. 

Here's the menu - split basically into cold and warm. 
It's a bit hard to get an idea of what's a larger dish apart from the price. As a result, even though we ordered 4 dishes, we weren't really full. Service is good, and the host was very knowledgeable about ingredients and preparation
1796 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

1968 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Here's what we had:

Smoked Salmon with Malt Bread and Herb Cream Cheese
326 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Smoked salmon from H Forman, some tasty malt bread, and a cool herb cream cheese. No complaints about how tasty these ingredients are, but I wasn't convinced that 1) it's worth 148$ for just a few pieces of salmon and bread, and 2) that it belongs at a restaurant like this. Nothing very original or interesting about the preparation or combination.

Yellow Tail with Cucumber and Creme Fraiche
128 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Another simple dish with unadulterated hamachi sashimi under a bed of thin cucumber noodles with a light creme fraiche sauce. Relies on the cool cucumber and rich hamachi, but the flavors don't really pop, and I feel like they missed a chance to enhance the hamachi with something savory or acidic.

Grilled Octopus
200 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Recommended by the host over the Capellini. Nicely grilled so it's that mix of creamy and chewy, but not particularly flavorful on its own. I loved the daikon, which was incredibly sweet and tender, and the brussel sprouts provided some nice texture and salty bitterness. Overall a nice dish, but again, wasn't blown away.

Steak Sandwich
152 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
Unquestionably delicious, it uses thin, rare slices of bavette, a kind of flank cut, to provide an incredibly beefy, flavorful sandwich. The focaccia is nicely toasted while still fluffy, and the mustard mayo is a perfect combination of tart/creamy. A great dish, but i haven't had a bad steak sandwich at a good restaurant before. And again, it's just a few slices and barely enough for one person as small entree. Is it worth 220?

Lemon Posset
84 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
I'd never even heard of a posset, but apparently it's something between a custard and a pudding. We loved it with the added fruits, and if you like lemon (there is a lot in here), you'll love this tart, off-sweet dessert.

Overall, I didn't really get this place. Nothing was a total failure, but neither was anything what I would consider a show-stopper. Some interesting ingredients, but not combined or prepared in a way that made me think twice or wonder how it was done/conceived. Further, at these prices and sizes, you leave feeling neither full nor satisfied. Nevertheless, people seem to like it, so perhaps we ordered the wrong stuff? Anyway, I leave it up to you, but i can't give it more than an OK.
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2019-12-06
用餐途徑
堂食
人均消費
$400 (晚餐)
等級2
23
0
2019-10-03 1891 瀏覽
餐廳裝飾很有心意 大理石桌板搭配木質邊沿Pumpkin Risotto很creamy,也有很濃烈的堅果和芝士味雞腿很嫩 配菜有烤的菜心 chickpea 和煎香的火腿肉Steak sandwich用了medium wagyu配火箭菜和芥末醬 整個搭配都很棒餐廳整體性價比不錯,三個course大約HKD600,但是只有小桌,適合四人或以下的聚餐。看得出來chef有很用心去設計每一道菜,菜式搭配也算新颖,有兴趣再试。
更多
餐廳裝飾很有心意 大理石桌板搭配木質邊沿
risotto
182 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Pumpkin Risotto很creamy,也有很濃烈的堅果和芝士味
Jumbo  Qual
174 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

雞腿很嫩 配菜有烤的菜心 chickpea 和煎香的火腿肉
Steak  Sandwich
121 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

Steak sandwich用了medium wagyu配火箭菜和芥末醬 整個搭配都很棒

餐廳整體性價比不錯,三個course大約HKD600,但是只有小桌,適合四人或以下的聚餐。看得出來chef有很用心去設計每一道菜,菜式搭配也算新颖,有兴趣再试。
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐途徑
堂食
推介美食
risotto
Jumbo  Qual
Steak  Sandwich
等級4
2019-09-11 5370 瀏覽
這間餐廳外表樸實,原來是米芝蓮Arcane 的另一casual 餐廳,店子走悠閒舒適路缐。全間餐廳只有廿四個座位,而餐點的選擇也比較簡單,分別有六款前菜$108-$158, 簡單主菜六款$138-$178,及三款甜品$78-$98。p.s: 這兒不設加一,所以所有飲用水另作收費。Steak sandwich $198Wagyu Bavette, red onion, potatoes, caper berry這牛扒三文治平平凡凡,而味道都幾ok. 三文治麵包鬆化軟熟,而夾在中間的牛扒保持五成熟,肉質軟腍又juicy, 肉味濃郁,再加上野莓、紅洋蔥和薯仔,既有肉香,又有洋蔥的辛和野莓的一點清香氣息,整體味道很豐富。唯份量有點少,男生吃也許唔多夠,也另加前菜。Salmon benedict$178Smoke salmon ,egg, Spanish, hollandise, malt bread這egg Benedict 真有水準!水波旦煮到剛剛好,滑溜的旦汁和荷蘭汁融合,口感更豐腴稠厚,好creamy! 再拌上菠菜茸、煙三文魚和malt bread, 實在好吃!不得不讚那幼滑濃香的荷蘭汁
更多


這間餐廳外表樸實,原來是米芝蓮Arcane 的另一casual 餐廳,店子走悠閒舒適路缐。全間餐廳只有廿四個座位,而餐點的選擇也比較簡單,分別有六款前菜$108-$158, 簡單主菜六款$138-$178,及三款甜品$78-$98
425 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
321 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言
。p.s: 這兒不設加一,所以所有飲用水另作收費。




Steak sandwich $198
Wagyu Bavette, red onion, potatoes, caper berry
162 瀏覽
2 讚好
0 留言

這牛扒三文治平平凡凡,而味道都幾ok. 三文治麵包鬆化軟熟,而夾在中間的牛扒保持五成熟,肉質軟腍又juicy, 肉味濃郁,再加上野莓、紅洋蔥和薯仔,既有肉香,又有洋蔥的辛和野莓的一點清香氣息,整體味道很豐富。唯份量有點少,男生吃也許唔多夠,也另加前菜。



Salmon benedict$178
Smoke salmon ,egg, Spanish, hollandise, malt bread
126 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

這egg Benedict 真有水準!水波旦煮到剛剛好,滑溜的旦汁和荷蘭汁融合,口感更豐腴稠厚,好creamy! 再拌上菠菜茸、煙三文魚和malt bread, 實在好吃!不得不讚那幼滑濃香的荷蘭汁,或許當中加了少許醋,吃罷也沒有太膩口的感覺。而那malt bread 真好吃,味道甜甜地,滿有麥芽香,而且口感柔軟又煙韌,比一般英式鬆餅好吃很多。




Cappuccino $35
167 瀏覽
0 讚好
0 留言

平曰飲咖啡都唔少,但這杯泡沫咖啡真的
十分幼滑!泡沫極為細密而輕盈,一如棉花一樣,配合甘香的咖啡和豐盈奶香,正。泡沫融合咖啡,令入口的溫度無咁熱,剛剛好,是一杯極幼滑的泡沫咖啡。



雖然只是輕食,但味道都幾唔錯,要令簡單的餐點煮得美味,或許要花的心思更多。這一曰的午餐雖然簡單,但也十分滿足。
(以上食評乃用戶個人意見 , 並不代表OpenRice之觀點。)
張貼
評分
味道
環境
服務
衛生
抵食
用餐日期
2019-09-08
用餐途徑
堂食
用餐時段
午餐