OpenRice 主頁      English OpenRice      TableMap      開飯遊踨
   中文 | English
AK2012
This is AK2012 living in Kowloon Bay. I like to hang out in Central, Causeway Bay, Wan Chai. Hong Kong Style, Singaporean & Malaysian, Italian are my favorite cuisines. I also love Outdoor, Dim Sum Restaurant, Western Restaurant and Curry, Seafood, Dessert.
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review23 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended1 Recommended
Popularity2173 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos68 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
我的餐廳0 My Restaurant(s)
關注0 Following
粉絲4 Follower(s)
AK2012  Novice Gourmet
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllHong Kong Macau Shenzhen  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 23 Reviews in Hong Kong & Nearby Region
All Day Breakfast OK Mar 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western | Western Restaurant

I am not an early person, so missing the usual breakfast timing of the local restaurants or cafes is a norm to me. tongue
Through friend's recommendation, we found out about this place which serves breakfast all day long - perfect place for us!
We went over to check out this place last saturday. It was pretty full when we got there, but lucky us, there was one empty table left and we got seated. We spent a few minutes checking out their menu and finally made our orders. We've ordered one Full English and one Biscuits & Gravy.
Menu Cover Page

Menu Cover Page

 
Menu

Menu

 
This place looked a little like those American old diners with blueish-themed deco. The ceiling was pretty low and the tables were crowdedly arranged, which made the place quite noisy especially when there are lots of customers. The two of us were seated between a group of three and six people, our conversations were "interrupted" many times by the shouts and laughs from the two groups. sad

Back to the food.. Fruit juices which came with the breakfast set were served first. Like what were told in other reviews, they came in tiny glasses and could actually finish drinking it in one sip.
Small (tiny) Fruit Juice

Small (tiny) Fruit Juice

 
The Full English which came with two eggs - we asked for over easy; tomatoes; two sausages; baked beans; a piece of bacon; some sliced mushrooms; and toast which we've got it changed to English muffins. Well, eggs are eggs and hard to get wrong for baked beans as it just needed to be tipped out from can and heated up before it's served. The sausages and bacon were fine, nothing fantastic to be mentioned.
Full English

Full English

 
As for the Biscuit and Gravy, it came with biscuits with gravy (of course); eggs - asked for scrambled egg; sausage meat; and two sides - asked for baked beans and tomato soup. The scrambled egg and the tomato soup were just alright. But the biscuits were rather flavorless and the gravy was basically tasteless. sad The sausage meat (guess it is chicken) was dry and one of it had broken into pieces and they hide it under another piece. The whole dish was rather boring and tasteless that I actually ate most of it with lots of ketchup. sad
Biscuit & Gravy

Biscuit & Gravy

 
Overall, this place wasn't a fantastic place for food and their service was neither good. The price was not really cheap even though it is slightly cheaper than Simplylife (but their food and service are good!). We used to go to Simplylife for breakfast and thought we've found a nearer and convenient place for breakfast, but this place was just not as good. Nonetheless, we would still keep our options open and keep this breakfast place in mind. Will probably try out other menu items but definitely not the Biscuits & Gravy.
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 17, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$120(Breakfast)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Hygiene
 3  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   2 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
Nice Tonkatsu!  Smile Mar 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Group Dining

Accidentally discovered this restaurant when we were shopping around Causeway Bay and we decided to check it out. There was one customer waiting when we reached there, and we got seated after waiting for about 5 minutes.
We've ordered one combo cutlet set which came with prawn, pork loin, pork tenderloin, and creamy crab croquette; and one curry cutlet set.

 
Pickles - Bottomless

Pickles - Bottomless

 
Shredded Cabbage - bottomless

Shredded Cabbage - bottomless

 
Shredded cabbage was served first, together with some pickles. Both are bottomless! lol There were two dressings available for the shredded cabbage - sesame dressing and grapefruit vinegar dressing. I'm usually a fan of grapefruit vinegar dressing but decided to try their sesame dressing too. The sesame dressing wasn't very thick. Its mild sesame flavor, mixed with the grapefruit vinegar dressing, went very well with the shredded cabbages. smile The shredded cabbage was very fresh, like it a lot - and they help in balancing the "greasiness" from the deep fried cutlets. tongue
Black and White Sesame

Black and White Sesame

 
Grinded Sesame with Special Tonkatsu Sauce

Grinded Sesame with Special Tonkatsu Sauce

 
We were given a small bowl of black and white sesame for the combo cutlet set. By using a small wooded stick, these sesame was to be grinded till desired texture, and followed by adding in the special tonkatsu sauce. The sauce was thick and enhanced the aroma of the sesame - made a good combination.
Soup - Bottomless

Soup - Bottomless

 
Combo Cutlet Set

Combo Cutlet Set

 
Minutes later, the mains were served with soup and rice. We were told that the soup was bottomless too! lol For the cutlet combo set, the coating was thin and crispy, but a little loose and fell off quite easily. The prawn was alright. The pork loin was alright but a little dry. The tenderloin was much better, juicier and much tender compared to the pork loin. As for the creamy crab croquette, it tasted alright but a little too "creamy".
Curry Cutlet Set

Curry Cutlet Set

 
The curry cutlet set was pretty good. The tenderloin was juicy and tender, but same problem - the coating tends to fall apart from the cutlet. The curry was good too, can be considered as one of the good ones in town. smile The rice provided was a lot, can't finish them. tongue

Overall, the food was good and its service was great too. Will come back to try out other menu items. smile
 
Table Wait Time: 5 minute(s)


Spending per head: Approximately HK$180

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
Asian Twist Again! Smile Mar 07, 2012   (Related Review)
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Thai | Singaporean & Malaysian | Noodles/Rice Noodles | Curry

This was my second visit within a month. lol The restaurant was starting to fill up with people when we got there. By the time we get seated and ordered our food, all tables had been filled with customers.

Ordered nasi lemak (as usual lol ), curry laksa, kaya toast and soft-boiled egg set, iced coffee and milo dinosaur. The nasi lemak was good as expected, the rice has nice coconut scent, not too sticky or too hard, just nice. Initially, we thought that they've missed out the "sambal" - chilli paste which goes with nasi lemak, so we got them to get us some. Then, we noticed that they didn't serve the "sambal" for all other nasi lemak orders too. Not too sure what is the reason behind it, but this is definitely not right. Nasi lemak will not be a complete dish without "sambal". Hope they will improve after this. smile

As for the curry laksa, the soup was good, coconut milk added in it was just nice, its curry taste will be covered by coconut flavor if it is too much. It has very nice shrimp taste too. Everything was good except for the shrimp slices - wasn't really fresh, a little mushy. sad When I was trying to get them to change the vermicelli to yellow noodles (yellow noodles goes very well with curry laksa too), I was told that it is not possible even though they do serve yellow noodles in other menu items. I can understand that Singapore's style of curry laksa is using vermicelli, but it will be better if they allow customers to have options to change it to yellow noodles.
Curry Laksa

Curry Laksa

 
The soft-boiled eggs this time round was good, not over-cooked. It was over-cooked the last time we had. Hope they can maintain a consistent standard on this. smile The kaya toast was alright but will be better if has slightly more butter in it. smile
Kaya Toast

Kaya Toast

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Nasi Lemak,Curry Laksa
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 04, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$90

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Hygiene
 3  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
Disappointing Dinner OK Mar 05, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghai | Chinese Restaurant | Noodles/Rice Noodles

Went to IKEA last weekend for some furniture shopping and wanted to have dinner before heading home. While walking around Windsor building, thinking what to have, we found this restaurant having quite a number of people queing for tables. We guessed that this restaurant should be a goos ones, so we decided to give it a try. After waiting for about 10-15 minutes, we finally get seated. We wanted to order "Xiao Long Bao" at first, but we noticed that there is no table ordering this dish. So, decided to give it a pass. Instead, we ordered Dandan Noodles with fried pork ribs, Sauteed Eggplant, and Beancurd Rolls (vegetarian).

The Dandan Noodles was the biggest disappointment we had, the noodles were probably overcooked - a little too soft, and it was not "chewy" at all. The soup was bland too, it did give some peanut scent/aroma but didn't taste any peanut flavor when eating. The fried pork ribs that comes with the noodles was a little "dry", not juicy at all. For the Beancurd Rolls (vegetarian) which has enoki mushroom in them, was so-so, crispy but no surprises. The only dish which we were quite satisfied with was the Sauteed Eggplant. The brown paste used to fried the eggplant and pork slices was tasty but it was a little too oily. By the time we finished the dish, the plate was covered with a layer of oil. sad

Overall, the food wasn't really bad, but I would say Crystal Jade is still our choice for Shanghainess food. smile

Dandan Noodles

Dandan Noodles

 
Beancurd Rolls

Beancurd Rolls

 
Sauteed Eggplant

Sauteed Eggplant

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Mar 03, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Hygiene
 3  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
Nice Xiao Long Bao Smile Feb 28, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Shanghai | Ramen | Noodles/Rice Noodles

This is not our first time visiting Crystal Jade, but it is our first time visiting their outlet in Times Square. We normally don't come to this outlet because it is always full of people. As usual, it was full of people when we were there last Sunday, and there were quite a few groups of people queing in font of us. It took us about 25-30 minutes to get a table and there were no seats or whatsoever for their waiting customers. We were simply standing in front of other shops while waiting for our turn.

Ordered 2 servings of "Xiao Long Bao" (can't be missed lol ), 1 serving of Salt and Pepper Croaker, 1 serving of Fried Wanton, and 1 serving of Ramen with Chicken Soup. Xiao Long Bao - very good as usual, 'skin' is thin and juicy; Salt and Pepper Croaker - crispy and taste good with the fried garlic; Fried Wanton - very crispy, nice to eat with chilli sauce too; Ramen with Chicken Soup - noodles are "chewy" and "smooth", the soup was a little bland but not too bad.

Ramen with Chicken Soup - OK

Ramen with Chicken Soup - OK

 
Xiao Long Bao - good

Xiao Long Bao - good

 
Salt & Pepper Croaker - good

Salt & Pepper Croaker - good

 
Fried Wanton - good

Fried Wanton - good

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  小籠包
 
Table Wait Time: 25 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Feb 26, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$175

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   3 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0