OpenRice 主頁      English OpenRice      TableMap      開飯遊踨
   中文 | English
cheapest
This is cheapest . I am a Eater. I like to hang out in Tai Kok Tsui, Tsim Sha Tsui, Tung Chung. Indian, Japanese, Western are my favorite cuisines. I also love Steak House, Western Restaurant, Hotel Restaurant, Steak.
Member 4 First(s)
No. of Review23 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended2 Recommended
Popularity2926 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos13 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
我的餐廳0 My Restaurant(s)
關注0 Following
粉絲1 Follower(s)
cheapest  Novice Gourmet
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllHong Kong Macau Shenzhen  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 23 Reviews in Hong Kong & Nearby Region
Post Hoc, Ergo Propter Ho Smile May 28, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : British | Takeaway | Hamburger

Fish n chips small $36.

Chips go into fryer, fish fillet gets battered and into the fish fryer. Whole process takes 10 minutes and chips and fish go into a paper boat. I smother the whole thin in a thick layer of salt and malt vinegar (or non-malt condiment), just like I would do in England. But hold on. This is 30 degrees 95% humidity in Saikung. Good job they sell cold ones.

The fish. No choice, just generic fish. No flaky cod, no plaice, no haddock. The generic fish was a bit chewy and fell out of the batter. Maybe first coat the fish in flour and then batter it before frying, that would make the batter adhere to the fish. Maybe next time. Good effort.

The chips. Frozen factory type. Generic chips. Obviously this is the the most efficient and cost effective way. Peeling real potatoes, chipping and frying them from scratch would take much too much time and would cost much much more.

Really appreciate the effort the vendors have put in and keeping the price point low, it does appeal to the mass market. I showed up to order lunch and there were English schoolboys and local aunties alike waiting for their fish.

I like the place. I would also like to make some suggestions. Do some pickled eggs and onions, get some Tettley's too.
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: May 28, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$36(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 3  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   5 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
What Kind of Day has it Been Smile Jan 21, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Sunday night. Empty restaurant bar one table. And he was finishing off.

Ordered the butter ramen and the fried rce set.

The ramen came with the usual char siu and corn and a large knob of Hokkaido butter. The onions and spring onions aplenty. The soup was a white bone stock with white miso and garlic oil. It was strong, full of flavour just like the ones I've had in Sapporo. Surprised at the quality of the stock.

The ramen was the curly yellow type and with the soup and ingredients, it was quit substantial. The accompanying friend rice had egg and bits of charsiu too, so taken together this was a large enough meal even for 2.

 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jan 20, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$85(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   26 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
The Short List Smile Nov 29, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Indian | Pizza | Curry

Popped in for lunch previously for a chicken tikka kebab. Through th lettuce you can spot some chicken in there, wasn't a lot. But OK for $48 with a drink.

Saturday went for some lamb vindaloo and naan. The naan was done just right, a little crispy, not burnt. The lamb was tender and with the spicey curry it was a mouthful. Good taste. There was excess sauce, so I aked them to pack it for me to take home.

Chicken tikka was also tender, sizzling on its hotplate as it arrived. Had that with vegetable byriani. The rice, quite a large portion, was well spiced and tasted good.

If you arrive just after 6pm, you can be seated right away. At one time we arrived a little late, so it was full. We went across the road to Smart Pepperoni and ordered the curries from there. The restaurants are owned by the same people, so their food and seating can be interchangeable. And you'll get 2 differnt bills when you settle.

Good food, good service.

Chicken tikka kebab

Chicken tikka kebab

 
plain naan

plain naan

 
lamb vindaloo

lamb vindaloo

 
 
Table Wait Time: 10 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 17, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$80(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   2 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
Six Meetings Before Lunch Smile Nov 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Arriving at 11:40, it was easy to get seated.

Ordered the white 叉燒拉麵, pork bone soup.
black 叉燒拉麵, roasted garlic soup.

The ramen was actually the thick type that you'd find in many other places and need to bite harder. The charsiu was thick cut, tender, tasty. The spring onion atop of that was plentiful and really went well with the soup.

The white soup was very tasty, quite salty too, in contrast to my black garlic soup, which had less in body. You can taste the garlic in its composition but it was quite faint.
Black garlic soup

Black garlic soup

 
Next time I'll order the white soup.
 
Date of Visit: Nov 11, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$90(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 3

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
Take This Sabbath Day Smile Nov 19, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Japanese | Ramen

Sunday lunch. Arrived to join the queue before they opened. Didin't get in first round to had to wait 35 mins for the next.

Haing got in, we quickly ordered the Kyushu ramen 九州拉麵、and charsiu ramen 叉燒拉麵, spicey miso. Watching the ramen chefs mix the soup and cook the ramen, I was impressed with their speed and efficiency. The ramen came very quickly and the toppings were quite generous. Having gone through most of the bowl, I found that there was still quite a bit left. This ramen shop's portions are large in comparison to others of the same quality bracket.

Extraordinary aspects
- Large servings
- charsiu burnt outside and tender inside. Very tasty, quite unique in HK.
- prices well below what you'd expect for this kind of quality

Ordinary bits
- The soup base underperformed given the craft the chef put into it. Not enough body to the taste.

There were people waiting well past 1 hour to be seated, is it worth that long a wait? Depends how hungr you are I suppose. For me, it was worth the 30 minute wait.
 
Table Wait Time: 35 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 18, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$60(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0