OpenRice 主頁      English OpenRice      TableMap      開飯遊踨
   中文 | English
dreamers
This is dreamers living in Happy Valley. I work in Wan Chai. I like to hang out in Admiralty, Wan Chai. Japanese, Italian, French are my favorite cuisines. I also love Western Restaurant, Sushi Bar and Wine, Seafood, Sushi/Sashimi.
Member 7 First(s)
No. of Review14 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended4 Recommended
Popularity2549 View(s)
Replies in Forum1 Comment(s)
Upload Photos38 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
我的餐廳12 My Restaurant(s)
關注0 Following
粉絲3 Follower(s)
dreamers  Novice Gourmet
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllHong Kong Macau Shenzhen  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 14 Reviews in Hong Kong & Nearby Region
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western | Western Restaurant | Hamburger

One of the first outlets to open at the much awaited Midtown Complex in Tang Lung Street , the Chop House offer casual american dining experience with self pour Beer Pumps. I went to check out the lunch and was impressed by the value. Set lunch range from $88-$118 including soup/salad and coffee.

The space is airy and bright and a lot of thoughts has been put into the design. The plush faux leather sofa is comfortable and the overhang pendent provides soft lighting.

We opted for the spinach soup and the BBQ pork burger. The soup came with a nice crockery and has generous amount of grinded spinach inside. However it is just a bit too light on the salt. The burger bun is very soft and has a nice tangy sauce that goes well with the pork.

There are four main to choose from, all of which leans towards providing a casual meal on the rush. The place is not packed yet so it is very relaxing during lunch hours. I would come back at dinner to try the pastas and steaks which perhaps will reflect better the chefs culinary skills.   

 

 
interior

interior

 
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 14, 2014 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$90(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 3  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 5  |  
Value for Money
 5

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
Farewell to A Star Smile Dec 30, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : French | Romantic Dining

I read from HK magazine that Mirror will be closing end of the year .They have just retained its Michelin one Star for 2014 and I was desperate to visit them before too late.
The restaurant managed to keep its price reasonable amidst the inflationary economy. I had the $598 four course menu composing of all the signature dishes.
The frog leg with garlic cream and parsley sauce is still mouth watering. The meat is tender and the garlic cream is tantalising but not overwhelming. A classic dish indeed.
The steam salmon with claim bouillon and coconut sauce was a creative dish. It was surprising to find Asian influence here. But the sweetness of the coconut blends really well with the clam juice , making the salmon extra tasty.
Finally comes the signature roast pigeon with port wine sauce. This dish has since been copied in many places but Mirror still turn out the best. The skin is crispy and the meat is flavorful.  
The dessert was Panna cotta with fresh mango. Its not sweet and helps to end the meal in perfect pitch.
I hope Mirror will reopen elsewhere soon. It is hard to find small restaurants where the owner chef still is passionate and provide value despite the high cost.

 

 

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Roast pigeon with port and red wine sauce,Frog leg with garlic cream
 
Date of Visit: Dec 26, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$600(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
The real boqueria  Smile Apr 10, 2013   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Spanish | Western Restaurant | Wine | BBQ

It is always exciting to try out new restaurant. Quemo opened last week quietly but the food has a lot to rave about. I found out the name means "Hot" or "Beware" and is commonly used amongst chefs. The team behind this place is impeccable. While Tony the manager comes from ABAC (Michelin 2 star) , the two executive chefs Quim comes from El Quim de Boqueria (rated best tapas bar in Barcelona) and Aitor Olebaiyor won the Best Young Chef in Spain in 1999.

The restaurant which has a rustic contemporary design lined with aged wood,mediterranean tiles and ambience lighting is not unlike the restaurants you find in Barcelona. It sets you into the perfect mood for the food to follows. Tony was kind enough to offer us a sangria which he aged for a week with many ingredients and it is refreshing and thirst quenching. He also recommended a bottle of 2011 Honoro Vera (100% granache) which was chosen as the official wine for the Oscar Award Gala Dinner. I was delighted to be drinking the same wine that Ben Afflek and Ann Hathway drank that night.

The food we orderd are:

1)Pregnant tomatoes - filled with smoked fish and the taste is fresh and appetizing. The savoury smokiness and the tangy tomato combines to give a great uplifting flavor.

2)Stuffed Squid- The squid is stuffed with minced pork and vegetables. The combination with thick black ink sauce produce a strong lasting savoury seafood flavour in the mouth.

3)Oyster burger- the sweet potato bun is home made and combined with froe gras, oyster ,tangy sauce and crunchy sesame brings a unique texture and taste that is new to the palate.

4)Mediterranean rice- The mussels comes seperately from the bomba rice which makes this dish appealing. For one order you can taste two dishes. The aroma of the rice brings memory of seaside holidays. Caramelized perfectly, the texture and taste is as authentic as you can get. This is best paella i ever had.

Overall, I am glad the food is not molecular at all. It is rustic cooking raised to a new level with traditional recipe and modern technique. The portion is also generous and satisfying. We are quite full and had no room for dessert. Tony said that i must try the liquid bonbon next time.

Quemo also has two terraces which is ideal for a cigar smokers like me. The only fault i can find is there is no umbrella yet in the terrace. The total bill comes to about $300 per person. It is reasonable considering the quality of the food and service. They must have chosen the name right as this restaurant will be a "HOT" restaruant in town.
Pregnant tomato

Pregnant tomato

 
Stuffed squid

Stuffed squid

 
Oyster/foie gras burger

Oyster/foie gras burger

 
Seafood paella

Seafood paella

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  mediterranean paella
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Apr 06, 2013 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$350(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 5  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   2 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
A winner from Dining Concept  Smile Dec 31, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Australian | Western Restaurant

This is yet another new restaurant opened by the expanding Dining Concept Group. The Chef is formerly from Terance Conran Group in Lonon and has successfully opened his own restaurant in Shanghai 8 years ago.

The restaurant is still in its trial period but judging from what i had, this is surely a restuarant to watch in 2013. The lunch menu is very reasonable and the ingrediaent used is first class. The deco is very intimate and modern with Laris' signature Carrera marble used lavishly. The service is cordial and well mannered and the sommelier Marisco knows his australian wine well. The wine by the glass offer good value and with a good choice of award winning wine.

Cream of Pumpkin-the soup is creamy but airy and made with caramelized shallot and bacon. It produce a savoury flavour that blends perfectly with the sweetness of the pumpkin.

Traditional turkey with stuffing - this is the best turkey i had this season. It is tender and juicy and the home made ketchup is full of fresh tomato and rasberry flavour.

Sticky rice pudding- this is a seasonal dessert. The presentation is very impressive and is baked upon order. It is a nice x'mas dessert although a bit sweet for my palate. Nevertheless it is a nice and warm dessert for winter.

All in all, i think the restaurant is a winner in food, taste , deco and value. I wil surely return again very soon.
interior

interior

 
pumpkin soup

pumpkin soup

 
traditional turkey

traditional turkey

 
dessert

dessert

 
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Cream of Pumpkin soup
 
Date of Visit: Dec 30, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$200(Lunch)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 5  |  
Service
 5  |  
Hygiene
 5  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
Soho Comes to Wanchai Smile Jun 26, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Western | Western Restaurant | Pizza | Romantic Dining | Special Occasion Dining

Spaghetti bolognese

Spaghetti bolognese

 
caesar salad

caesar salad

 
The popular Oolaa restaurant has arrived to Star Street and is adding more charm to the area. The decor and the menu is very similar to the original shop. It also has a frontage that opens up to the street and ideal for smokers.

It was sunday night and I was able to find a table there. This is a place for comfort food at a affordable price.The food portion is generous and the taste leans towars americna flavour.

Ceasar Salad - good portion with real anchoves and pancetta. The green is very fresh. It will be perfect if more dressing is provided.

Wagyu beef bolognese -A generous portion of quality ground beef with a tangy tomato sauce. we asked for al dente but the pasta still came out a bit soggy. May be this is how american prefers them.

Dessert- there is no dessert menu except 2 daily items which was not too exciting so we didnt go for it.

Overall, it is a convenient location for friends to gather for some comfort food without breaking your wallet. I was impressed that the waiters didnt push us for mineral waters.The service is alright but it will be more pleasant if they can smile more. Take advantage of the BYOB before they get the liquor license!
 
Recommended Dish(es):  Caesar salad
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Jun 24, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$300(Dinner)

Dining Offers: none


Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 4  |  
Service
 3  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 4

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0