OpenRice 主頁      English OpenRice      TableMap      開飯遊踨
   中文 | English
This is Super Critic .
Member 0 First(s)
No. of Review6 Review(s)
編輯推介數目0 Editor's Choice
Recommended0 Recommended
Popularity1926 View(s)
Replies in Forum0 Comment(s)
Upload Photos0 Photo(s)
Upload Videos0 Video(s)
My Recommended Reviews0 Recommended Review(s)
我的餐廳0 My Restaurant(s)
關注0 Following
粉絲1 Follower(s)
Super Critic  Novice Gourmet
Follow Follow  Comment Leave a Message 
Sort By:  Date Smile Smile Cry Cry  Editor's Choice  Overall Score 
Display: AllHong Kong Macau Shenzhen  
 
 
 
 
 
  Full View Full View   |   Map View Map View
Showing 1 to 5 of 6 Reviews in Hong Kong & Nearby Region
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Italian | Hotel Restaurant | Buffet | Fine Dining | Romantic Dining | Special Occasion Dining

Based on past bad experience with other restaurants in Royal Garden, it has taken us quite a while before deciding to give Sabatini a try.
We were welcome at the entrance and led to our table which is at the far end of the restaurant. The décor is reasonable for a causal dining environment and definitely not grand. But the immediate feeling is that every single inch of space was utilized to put up as many tables as they could without any consideration of the patrons. You could literally shake hands with the patrons at the table next to yours. The setup is more for family gathering and friends reunion and definitely not suitable for couples who would like some breathing space and a bit of peace and quiet. Caprice of Four Seasons or Petrus of Island Shangri La is miles better.
There were more tables than the staff could handle and obviously the service is not attentive. However, you can see the staff being very busy, running round to try to serve each table but
There is a movable side table which is attached to our table. To our surprise, one purpose of the side table is as a transient area for the bottles of water ordered by the patron next table, the plates with finished meals collected from near by tables, etc. We have been t virtually all the top dining places in the territory and have never come across such experience. This is totally unacceptable and all I could say is that the staff there just didn’t have any common sense on how to serve in a fine-dining restaurant or is Sabatini supposed to be a fine-dining place ?
Regarding the food, we had crab meat with fried soft cell crab and Parma ham as appetizers. Followed by seafood soup which is excellent but my mushroom soup was nothing special. The scampi risotto my wife had was not again nothing special but my char-frilled yellow flounder fish was tasty. Overall, the food is OK.
The 30 oz T-bone steak seems to be a popular choice and we can see many people ordered that for sharing. The problem with the steak was the way it was served. The serving staff would slice the steak into portions by your table. The are two major issues with this way of serving : (1) the whole operation takes about 10 minutes and by the time the sliced steak was served on a plate to you, it should be at most warm and not sizzling; (2) the slicing was done on a chopping board and needless to say the meat juice would all be lost and you would not get a single drop of it. Is this the Italian way for serving steak ? Didn’t they know these issues or people having it didn’t know how a steak should be served ?
Nevertheless, I would not go again due to the service and environment. And for $1800 per person, there are many much better choices, Petrus or Caprice would remain my top favourite. Sabatini is just not up to standard in many ways.

mad
 
Date of Visit: Aug 07, 2009 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$1800(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 4  |  
Environment
 1  |  
Service
 2  |  
Hygiene
 2  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
水準下降.  Cry Nov 06, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Guangdong | Chinese Restaurant | Hotel Restaurant | Dim Sum | Fine Dining | Business Dining

鮮明蝦窩貼 : 煮功OK但 D蝦完全無味.

陳皮沙薑煎雞 : 淨係得D沙薑味, D雞完全無雞味

蛋白花雕蒸蟹鉗 : D蟹鉗無以前咁爆肉

陳皮沙薑煎雞 : 淨係得D沙薑味, D雞完全無雞味

焗蟹蓋 : 椰子味重個蟹肉味

魚燙蹈庭麵 : 普通

天寶閣同唐閣好好多
 
Table Wait Time: 0 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Nov 04, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$600(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 4  |  
Value for Money
 2

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
      View Results
Recommend
0
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : American | Steak House | Western Restaurant | Wine | Romantic Dining

Visited (28 Dec 2008) Ruth Chris in TST East after seeing all the positive comments in Open Rice.

I and my wife ordered and shared the followings:

Bread : This is pretty good, crusty outside with soft inside. The soft butter although light in taste went pretty well with the bread.

Crab Cake ($140) : The crab meat was finely threaded that you can hardly taste it. To make it worse, the crab meat was seasoned with strong garlic and cheese which makes it totally impossinle to be tasted as crab meat. You have to try the crab cake from Oyster & Wine Bar at Sheraton to really appreciate what a crab cake should be.

Stuffed Mushroom with Crab meat ($100) : again just like the crab cake, can only feel the taste of cheese and garlic.

French Onion Soup ($100) : This is acceptable but not exceptional. The piece of bread that was soaked in the soup takes up one third of the bowl.

New York Strip (16 oz) : Ordered Medium Rare and served medium rare. But there was not a single drop of meat juice as you cut through the meat. The inside of the meat was only just warm and without any meat juice, it tasted bland and tasteless. I am sure that the steak has been pre-prepared and re-heated prior to being served. I had a lot of experience with this bad practice by the chef. This is really bad and unacceptable. Only fast food chain do this.

Au Gratin Potato ($75) : Side dish to go with the New York Strip. This was again not freshly prepared. It has been pre-prepared and reheated. Bad.

Bread Pudding (Free in the house) : Only so so. The whole pudding was soft from the outside through to the inside. There was a lack of crust on the outside and the white custard like sauce was served cold rather that bubbling hot. Not my preference of an authentic bread pudding.

Bottle of Phoenix (Carb Sav) from Australia ($500) : This is not too bad considering its price. But the wine list was rather limited and hardly any other choice unless you are prepared to go over to the $1500 range.

Ennvironment and Service : Service is good but not attentive. You have to look for the waiter for everything rather than being served by them practively. We have to ask for a knife for our crab cake as we have used the one on the table for the butter and bread. Environment is only slightly better over Outback or Dan Ryan with a white table cloth.

Recommendatiion : There are a lot of other places better (in terms of food quality and environment) than Ruth Chris. I would not go again.
 
Recommended Dish(es):  None
 
Spending per head: Approximately HK$810(Dinner)

Other Ratings:
Taste
 2  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 4  |  
Hygiene
 3  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
不值一提 Cry Dec 21, 2011   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Guangdong | Chinese Restaurant | Dim Sum Restaurant | Seafood | Dim Sum

早上十一時飲茶, 點了蝦餃,叉燒腸粉,錦鹵雲吞,籮白糕,豉椒味菜八珍炒河。

點心無樣掂。蝦餃皮鬆散,一夾就散, 皮還皮, 蝦還蝦。 籮白糕微暖,不夠熱和不夠煎香。叉燒腸粉皮"鞋"。錦鹵雲吞 OK。

碟豉椒味菜八珍炒河huffyhuffy,任何一間茶餐廳都好過佢。所為八珍就係一隻用來做蝦餃大小嘅蝦,一片紙咁薄 1.5 cm x 2.5 cm 嘅豬潤,兩片 1 cm x 2 cm魷魚,1片雞肉。個欠汁十足快餐冧上面。

個老板上電視話一早五/六點去試點心,品質監督。可能各人有各人嘅品質標準。

服務超慢huffy
 
Table Wait Time: 3 minute(s)


Date of Visit: Dec 17, 2011 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$88

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 3  |  
Service
 2  |  
Hygiene
 3  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   1 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0
極之失望, 永不錄用 Cry Feb 04, 2012   
Share on TwitterShare on Facebook
Categories : Guangdong | Chinese Restaurant | Group Dining

見openrice有些positive comments, 所以友人從外國回港, 就一齊去試, 所以係第一次光顧. 但極極極失望, 我們都決不會再去, 亦會奉勸所有朋友不要光顧.

1. 一到達門口, 我們話reserve左6:30, 那帶位的小姐已要求我地8:00交檯 (打電話訂檯時沒有講, 因為是招呼遠地回來的朋友, 如有限制, 根本一早會轉地方). 我們說未必做得到. Anyway, 都入去了.

2.入了座, 人數不多, 可能還早. 但就無法傾計, 因為佢勁播熱鬧賀年歌曲 (其實當時都未有耐新年), 重越來越大聲, 我和朋友都不約而同覺得佢地要趕客, 費事你o係太舒適環境有排傾啦.

3.先點了一些頭盤, 包括牡丹蝦仁、鴨腎及鴨肝三款, 從menu相片還擔心太多, 但到來時, 全部是迷你版本, 約相片的三分一份量, 得啖笑. 本來我地覺得貴精不貴多亦ok, 可惜一食之下, 發現 (i)蝦---完全無味, 唔知食緊乜; (ii) 鴨腎---淋bek bek, 唅都唅得溶, 又係無味; (iii) 鴨肝---無潤味, 整係食到d酒味, 又凍又硬; 三樣黎講, 蝦係最差.

4.烤鴨, of course 係主角, 最期待. 但真係好好好好失望. 我試過好多間烤鴨, 有平有貴e.g. 北京樓、翠園、北京人家、霸王山莊、海景軒、天寶閣、位於北京的大董、全聚德、泰國的爵祿軒及泰國marriot hotel 中菜man ho 等等, 真係無間衰過佢; 當然北京的大董is the best. 大都點解衰 凍架, 但明明order時waitress 話要早d叫, 唔係等好耐, 扮晒即整, 點知兩分鐘就到, 絕無一般酒樓席前片, 係半碟半碟分兩次拿來, 根本係整定晒, 為左要快, 要翻檯, 要你早d食完埋單.

5.烤鴨二食 (其實加錢另叫), 係生菜包. waitress問要兩人or四人份量, 我地4個人, 所以叫左4人份量, 但個dish黎到, 大家不約而同O嘴, 再問waitress係咪4人份量. why 因為係一個碗仔份量囉. 平時通常食唔晒, 但呢度大家就要就住食喇.

味道方面, 總括黎講, d食物都偏淡味 (有d人可能ok), 甚至無味 (應該人人都唔ok). 此外, 就是以快餐式經營, 不重食物質素, 亦不重服務, 只重快, 要好快, 但你唔係收快餐價錢woh!

8:00, 接近吃完甜品(係接近咋), 有個waitress就行埋黎叫你埋單. 真係好嬲. 我地話其實未食完(可能會加d甜品呢), 而且如知道要8:00交檯, 我地一定唔訂, 尖沙嘴大把choices啦, 諗住未試過至黎咋.

埋單雖然唔算貴, 4人約900蚊, 但唔開心囉. Spoil左我地4個人一個難得的evening就係世係假嘛. 此restaurant已列入黑名單, 永不給予機會.
 
Date of Visit: Jan 17, 2012 

Spending per head: Approximately HK$230

Other Ratings:
Taste
 1  |  
Environment
 2  |  
Service
 1  |  
Hygiene
 2  |  
Value for Money
 1

  • Keep it up!

  • Looking Forward

  • Interesting

  • Touched

  • Envy

  • Cool Photo
   2 Vote(s)   View Results
Recommend
0